Skip to content

Build-A-Bear Workshop, Inc Stockholders Meeting

May 9, 2008

Build-A-Bear Workshop, Inc held their annual meeting of stockholders, May 8, 2008. Chairman and Chief Executive Bear, Maxine Clark reviewed the company’s highlights, 2007 accomplishments and outlined plans for 2008. This was the fourth annual meeting since Build-A-Bear Workshop, Inc became a public company.

Stockholders were invited to experience buildabearville.com(TM) and Maxine said, “Our Guests are engaging in our new online world, buildabearville.com, at a fast pace. Our investment in this online world reflects our commitment to building the entertainment value of our brand. The trend in online play for children is an emerging change and our virtual world website is an important platform for our future growth as a retail-entertainment brand.” (ref Build-A-Bear Workshop Press Release)

Yes, 2008 is the year of the virtual playground and their investment is timely. I’m confident that our new virtual sandbox, that we’ve all come to love, will thrive and I am looking forward to discovering all the new things to come!

For more on the Stockholder’s meeting see the Build-A-Bear Workshop Press Release:

As you know from the Furry News Flash Shea and Mercer will return to BuildABearville throughout the month of May. Look for them in the Friendship Forest Park on different servers.
Hint: Today at 4:00pm est (3:00 central time) Bear Blvd.
Let us know if you see her, what server and what time!
66 Comments
  1. dhukai permalink
    May 9, 2008 8:37 am

    I liked this quote, too:

    Clark added, “In 2008,… we are focusing on … driving product newness and collectability, and on raising awareness of buildabearville.com and integrating this new component of our brand experience into everything we do.”

  2. sarahbear371 permalink
    May 9, 2008 4:20 pm

    A gazillion cybearguides are on in Paw Peak in the Neighborhood.

  3. zoiebearhug44 permalink
    May 9, 2008 4:59 pm

    there is no Paw Peak !

  4. faithballetbear5 permalink
    May 9, 2008 5:02 pm

    It isn’t in USA. Paw Peak is in either Canada or UK (can’t remember which).

  5. dhukai permalink
    May 9, 2008 5:02 pm

    Click on a cybearguide in your friend list to join us.

  6. dhukai permalink
    May 9, 2008 5:54 pm

    Some guides are in Bear Blvd now.

  7. dhukai permalink
    May 9, 2008 6:00 pm

    Nevermind, it send some of us to Cubby and Chanel is there now.

  8. dhukai permalink
    May 9, 2008 6:05 pm

    We ran around with our new running shoes from Neighborhood to Sportplex to University to Libeary to Perf. Arts to Town Square to Skate Park and back to Neighborhood. We were chanting “I am feet!” We were fit after all that runnying. They also announced a Mother’s Day essay contest.

  9. alexb1094 permalink
    May 9, 2008 6:13 pm

    we should have a party where everyone dresses the same as someone else..it’ll be like a twin fest and we can all meet somewhere and go all around the town cheering and yelling!!is this a good idea guys

  10. JessBearHug permalink
    May 9, 2008 6:56 pm

    alexb1094, great minds! I told Kitten the same thing awhile back. I thought it would be cute to parade around all looking the same.

  11. jacsan permalink
    May 9, 2008 9:35 pm

    I think AlexB has a great idea! It would be fun everybody parading around!

  12. starofstars permalink
    May 9, 2008 9:54 pm

    Hi peoples i just wanted to say i am looking forward seeing shea sometime soon i hope she was an exclusive item for us 🙂

  13. sushirox336 permalink
    May 9, 2008 9:57 pm

    omg i am so happy right now!!! so i created a spare account with a character named MaxineBearFun to put extra stuff in and today i was emailed that the name was not supposed to be up there, and since i have to change the name of the person i get bear head slippers, bear head ski mask, and a heart necklace! they are adding them to the account soon!!!
    P.S. alexb i LOVE your idea!

  14. kitten1462 permalink
    May 9, 2008 10:10 pm

    Yes, I will have that party very soon. Nice idea!

  15. sushirox336 permalink
    May 9, 2008 10:38 pm

    that was so weird… as i was on my maxinebearfun account…. Maxine was in town square!!!! luckily i was on my VirginiaVeryCool user too! i got bear slippers from her on both accounts and i am still going to get another pair for the whole name thing soon!!!

  16. faithballetbear5 permalink
    May 9, 2008 10:41 pm

    where did you see maxine?

  17. faithballetbear5 permalink
    May 9, 2008 11:18 pm

    Okay, I have to take a moment again (please forgive me everyone for taking up space) and thank a friend. I have wanted bear slippers (like many others), but you know how it is, you can never find Maxine and I’m such a scaredy cat when it comes to trading! Well, I met up with Sushi to find out where to look (see post#15). When she found out I wanted bear slippers she gave me a pair for free. She wouldn’t let me pay.
    Hope I’m not upseting you Sushi by bringing it up, but I really wanted to say thank you in a big way. That was such a sweet thing to do. I don’t know, maybe it is silly because they aren’t even real, but that really meant something to me.
    Thank you!

    Oh and a side note, just because it was funny to me…
    Today I got bear mail from my oldest (her teacher let her get on BABV at school). She sent me a topaz tiara and bear bills as a mothers day gift. I just thought it was precious. I can’t help but laugh about that. Do you think I’m on BAB just a little too much?

  18. JessBearHug permalink
    May 9, 2008 11:21 pm

    sushirox336 – WOW!!!

    And that was so nice what you did for Faithballetbear5

  19. sushirox336 permalink
    May 9, 2008 11:48 pm

    oh faithballetbear and jessbearhug, you are too kind! anything for you guys on babv blog! everyone is freindly and welcoming! i was hoping to give the slippers to someone who really wanted them!
    p.s. i think i am on babv a little too much also! lol!:-)

  20. May 10, 2008 12:02 am

    That’s awesome! I need to play more and work less LOL!

    It was fun seeing you all online tonight!

    I had an exciting day, bought my darling son his first suit for his first dance tomorrow night. Oh he looked so handsome and so grown up I just melted.

    See ya’ll tomorrow! I have a few quests to complete so I’ll be on line a lot Saturday.

  21. aliciaglamourbear7 permalink
    May 10, 2008 12:06 am

    nice meeting you today sammik!you were dancing with black army.

  22. aliciaglamourbear7 permalink
    May 10, 2008 12:07 am

    i mean sushi

  23. aliciaglamourbear7 permalink
    May 10, 2008 12:08 am

    Sushi,you said a head slippers?in the maxine one?

  24. sushirox336 permalink
    May 10, 2008 12:08 am

    nice meeting you too aliciaglamourbear! that was wonderful seeing those from the proboards and those from the blog on there all together!

  25. aliciaglamourbear7 permalink
    May 10, 2008 12:09 am

    I went to your house and i can’t go upstairs.It might be a glitch

  26. aliciaglamourbear7 permalink
    May 10, 2008 12:10 am

    I was been kicked out of the site again.When i tried going to your house,the site said blah blah….your connections blah blah……I can’t remember.

  27. aliciaglamourbear7 permalink
    May 10, 2008 12:11 am

    Have you seen shea?

  28. sushirox336 permalink
    May 10, 2008 12:29 am

    oh sorry, it was probably because i was decorating it (again!)

  29. tessapopstar3 permalink
    May 10, 2008 12:58 am

    sushi that happened to me too! i just got the email today and was going to post it, but i didn’t know if i should because then everyone would be going around trying to make maxine accounts. I made MaxineBearPaw and i can’t wait until i get my gift pack!! I’m pretty happy i decided to make that account!!!

  30. tessapopstar3 permalink
    May 10, 2008 12:58 am

    * I ment that i had MaxineBearPaw earlier, and got the email. Sorry, that was unclear.

  31. faithballetbear5 permalink
    May 10, 2008 11:46 am

    How did you make an account with that name? If it isn’t on the list it won’t let you type it.

  32. Tristan2hip9 permalink
    May 10, 2008 11:48 am

    HEY FREYA THIS IS TRISTAN I HAVE NOT MADE A NEW ACCOUNT BUT I HAVE TO SAY THE NEW PANDA GIVES YOU A PANDA TEE FOR YOUR BEAR. IT IS SO COOL. LOL.

  33. carlbear11 permalink
    May 10, 2008 11:56 am

    When you get your extra slipper could i trade for them? I despritly want some. Please. let me know. I have the green lucky chair, the bear and hello kitty furniture, curly bear head rug, christmass tree, and winter shelf, and store credits.

  34. sushirox336 permalink
    May 10, 2008 11:58 am

    the reason why we get the slippers, maxine bear hat, and heart necklace is because the name was there for a little bit by mistake. when they relized they sent an email to everyone who chose that name.

  35. sushirox336 permalink
    May 10, 2008 11:58 am

    you can tell why they did not want anyone but maxine to have that name…..

  36. tessapopstar3 permalink
    May 10, 2008 12:40 pm

    they took the name “maxine” off the list after the mix-up was discovered. I’m excited to get my prize pack!! What about you sushi?

    I posted more info about this topic on BABVQuest on BABV Chat>Maxine Gift Pack!!

    it includes screenshots of the choosing the maxine name deal.

    has anyone seen shea today??

  37. sushirox336 permalink
    May 10, 2008 2:07 pm

    i heard from the boards that a cybearguide said she will only be on babv on fridays at 3:00.

  38. sushirox336 permalink
    May 10, 2008 2:08 pm

    tessa, i have not gotten the gift pack yet but am excited!

  39. aliciaballerina permalink
    May 10, 2008 2:16 pm

    SUSHI 3:00 est or central

  40. sushirox336 permalink
    May 10, 2008 2:27 pm

    that is what i was wondering… it did not say.

  41. sushirox336 permalink
    May 10, 2008 2:27 pm

    carlbear11 what is your babv name?

  42. franpatches permalink
    May 10, 2008 2:29 pm

    She is CarlBear11!

  43. aliciaballerina permalink
    May 10, 2008 2:34 pm

    i love the blog but too bad it doesn’t say

  44. sushirox336 permalink
    May 10, 2008 2:34 pm

    oh lol!

  45. aliciaballerina permalink
    May 10, 2008 2:38 pm

    well i gtg for a check up at the doctor’s plus i’m thinking of my girls name i think i’ll name her madelyn but i am still thinking

  46. mikaelascubabear permalink
    May 10, 2008 2:57 pm

    i have to ask, how did you guys get ur BABV pix as ur pixs here?

  47. zionzoom92 permalink
    May 10, 2008 3:15 pm

    mikaelacubabear- Go to the FAQ page. It should help you.

  48. carlbear11 permalink
    May 10, 2008 3:17 pm

    yeah i am carlbear11. what did you need?

  49. melodypaws permalink
    May 10, 2008 3:53 pm

    What prize pack? I must have missed somthing.

  50. sushirox336 permalink
    May 10, 2008 4:03 pm

    well i was going to send you some bear slippers because i just got the maxine gift pack (see comment 13) and i have an extra pair of slippers from that. unfortunately i do not think you are on my friends list, because when i was trying to send you something, carlbear11 did not show up. 😦 maybe we can meet up.

  51. regansosweet permalink
    May 10, 2008 4:05 pm

    oh wow! you guys are sure lucky! good thing you just happened to notice that name on the list!
    if after all this is done and someone has an extra pair of slippers i would LOVE some. i have been trying to get some for so long! i would trade something of mine in return, thanks!

  52. JessBearHug permalink
    May 10, 2008 5:03 pm

    regansosweet, you and me both. I have been looking for the slippers for forever. Need to be in the right place at the right time. I wanted to get a extra bear hat for my daughter too, but when I ask about it, people don’t even answer. Oh well.

    Now, I just got MY OWN panda today. My Mother’s Day/birthday present. I did the quest already,got my wallpaper and Tristan2hip9 is right, the cutest little panda shirt.

    Got a whole mess of May calendars for lots more guitars too.

  53. carlbear11 permalink
    May 10, 2008 5:24 pm

    sushirox what is your babvname i am spacing it. i am on now to meet up i am in my condo so if your still on you can meet me there.

  54. carlbear11 permalink
    May 10, 2008 5:40 pm

    i will stay on all night basicaly so any time you are on i will be there. so check my condo

  55. tessapopstar3 permalink
    May 10, 2008 7:14 pm

    yay i just got my gift pack XD you got yours, right sushi?

  56. sushirox336 permalink
    May 10, 2008 7:17 pm

    yup!

  57. sushirox336 permalink
    May 10, 2008 7:20 pm

    carlbear, i am in your condo but i think you are afk

  58. sushirox336 permalink
    May 10, 2008 7:56 pm

    jessbearhug on babv since i could not say it, i am going on a camping trip.

  59. JessBearHug permalink
    May 10, 2008 7:58 pm

    That’s neat, sushirox, Have a wonderful, safe trip. and THANKS Again. You are a great friend!!

  60. sushirox336 permalink
    May 10, 2008 8:39 pm

    you’re welcome! you are a very great friend too! i will try my best to stay away from bugs~ its the spiders that get me freaked out! have a nice evening!

  61. carlbear11 permalink
    May 11, 2008 8:30 am

    Sushirox you are the best!!!! I am so excited about my slippers!!! My hubby thinks i am a nerd but who cares i have slippers!!! Thank you so much again!!! And glad I could host a little gathering for all of you. 🙂 By the way i was afk playing with my kids when you first showed up. Oh and HAPPY MOTHERS DAY to all the mothers on babv who ofcourse play for their kids. 😉

  62. sushirox336 permalink
    May 11, 2008 12:48 pm

    Happy mother’s day! you’re welcome! that was great with everyone at your condo! it is still rainy here. i hope it isn’t 2mRO, i hate hiking in mud!

  63. amieverysweet permalink
    May 11, 2008 6:51 pm

    SUSHIROX336

    Was Maxine giving slippers out the other day? Does she often give out things? I have never actually seen her. Do you know if there are certain days that she is on? Any info you or anyone else has would be great

  64. sushirox336 permalink
    May 11, 2008 8:23 pm

    yes, she was giving out slippers, and i am pretty sure she gives out something whenever she visits babv. sorry i do not know the times or dates when she is going to be on. i was just lucky when i had two accounts up when she came.

  65. amieverysweet permalink
    May 11, 2008 8:34 pm

    SUSHIROX336

    Thank you so much for getting back to me and letting me know. I guess I have an excuse to spend more time on buildabearville.

  66. aimeefuzzybear permalink
    May 18, 2008 1:58 pm

    Hi everyone! I’m new here. I’ve wanted bear slippers for a long time now. I finally got a pair from a friend yesterday! Did shea come on Friday?

Comments are closed.

