Skip to content

Hannah Montana in Buildabearville (TM)!!

April 8, 2008

A new sign appeared last night above the Pawforming Arts Center in the virtual world of Buildabearville.com (TM) announcing an exclusive video of Hannah Montana (TM), Miley Cyrus, in behind the scenes footage from the “Best of Both Worlds Concert” ! Click on the sign and it reads “Get a web code for EXCLUSIVE access to check out behind the scenes Best of Both Worlds video FREE with a purchase of $15 or more at your local U.S. or Canadian Build-A-Bear Workshop store April 15 – May 15 only. Plus, get a FREE virtual Hannah Montana guitar for your online character! (while quantities last).” If you know a tween girl than you already know about the 3D movie showing in theaters that has hit record sales!

This is a smart move by the Build-A-Bear Workshop (R) team. Disney Consumer Products’ Hannah Montana brand, showcased across a wide range of licensees at the 2008 Toy Fair and won the award for Property of the Year. (reference: http://www.toyassociation.org)

About a week ago Hannah Montana’s Miley Cyrus captured two of the Kids’ Choice Awards on Nickelodeon: both favorite actress in a TV show and favorite female singer.

My first reaction to the news is that it is a little disheartening to know that our international friends will not be included. I wonder if this will cause the video to show up on You Tube or to seeing codes being sold on ebay. Certainly not by me. The copyright and trademarks are owned by Build-A-Bear Workshop (R) or Disney and those actions could infringe upon them.

Over 2 million online characters have been brought to life in Buildabearville.com (TM) since it launched in early December, 2007. Each new stuffed animal, or furry friend, made at a Build-A-Bear Workshop (R) store comes with a custom made birth certificate that includes a unique code. The code is used to bring the furry friend to life in the virtual Buildabearville world. For each new animal brought to life, the citizen receives online virtual currency (bear bills) to spend on fun virtual stuff, an extra room and wallpaper for their buildabearville.com Cub Condo(R) house and access to an animal adventure (quest).

76 Comments
  1. April 8, 2008 9:14 am

    Nice meeting you too! Regansosweet posted great pictures of Maxine on yesterdays’s post comment section ‘Sports’

    They were dancing up a storm!

  2. dhukai permalink
    April 8, 2008 5:12 pm

    I’m not sure I understand the strategy behind BABW only handing out the special event codes at the physical stores. The main intent may be to drive traffic to the store, but many of us live too far from the stores to visit on a regular basis. I am happy to buy the products online, but I feel left out when I do not receive a beach code even though I bought the elephant and more during the required time period. Online only customers are important to sales growth, too, and we don’t cause any mall rent costs. What do other people think? Are most of you close enough to drive to the BABW easily?

  3. JessBearHug permalink
    April 8, 2008 5:28 pm

    92.6 miles round trip for us! No, we don’t make it to there once a week, or even once a month. Once every few months is more like it.

  4. amandabear207 permalink
    April 8, 2008 6:07 pm

    i dont have the sign isnt in my buildabearville maybe it will be on tomorow

    what else are they doin new in buildabearville this month i love the hunts that they make us do

    oh and pink hearts teddy is gone in mine also just to let yall know

  5. JessBearHug permalink
    April 8, 2008 6:23 pm

    amandabear207, I noticed that too. All the HM signs are gone and the pink hearts teddy too. I’m also seeing a lot more of the glitches today, like at the condos, there are numbers for a lot of folks and no names. So as they test stuff to add, they come up with glitches, it looks like.

  6. katherinebeardiva3 permalink
    April 8, 2008 6:42 pm

    does anyone know where all the gems are,i cant find one i dont know if its in the beach or not so plez let me know!:)

  7. katherinebeardiva3 permalink
    April 8, 2008 6:42 pm

    i need 1 more only!

  8. JessBearHug permalink
    April 8, 2008 6:48 pm

    katherinebeardiva3
    Don’t forget to go back to the Topaz teddy to collect 500 bear bills.
    Farm – in front of truck
    Path – on the left side on tree trunk
    Skate Park – on bench
    Fashion – Pawlette’s – on the left wall on the shelf over the blue skirts
    Town Square – on awning over Bearemy’s head

  9. April 8, 2008 6:52 pm

    Dhukai,
    Really good points!!!! I was hoping this would lead to a discussion like this! I’m 100% with you. BABW stocks were low at end of fiscal year 2007 then bearville was launched. I think that increasing their online sales would be a really good move and they seem to be isolating those of us that favor online buying.

  10. April 8, 2008 6:58 pm

    Holy Mackeral the signs are all gone! I’m glad I got a screen shot!

  11. jenniferspaws permalink
    April 8, 2008 6:58 pm

    I went to the Purforming Arts center and there wasn’t a Hannah Montanna Banner…???

  12. sushirox336 permalink
    April 8, 2008 8:07 pm

    only about 300 more hits to 100,000!!!

  13. linda‼ permalink
    April 8, 2008 9:13 pm

    you have 100,000 hits‼ congrats!

  14. April 8, 2008 9:44 pm

    yep 100,000 – thanks for noticing Sushirox and Linda!!!!

  15. faithballetbear5 permalink
    April 8, 2008 9:48 pm

    Did you ever think it would get this big?

  16. sarahbearish<3 permalink
    April 8, 2008 9:53 pm

    *signs* so much happens when you dont go on for a few days…i wish they would do more free stuff for BABV so you dont have to buy something just to get a virtual thing for online(and i have never been a fan of disney channel stuff so i’m not going to spend $15+ just to get a virtual guitar with HM on it(i think they should maybe sell guitars though(that would be cool)

  17. April 9, 2008 3:34 am

    Faithballetbear5,

    No I did not think it would get this big this fast. I remember after New Years being excited that I had 50 hits. We started the blog up Christmas Eve day and played around with it for the week.

    I also remember the day I changed the format – S4d0s and Pixarmc were online picking which one with me!!

  18. princessbunny permalink
    April 9, 2008 4:46 pm

    orange155/ go to the store BABW take your animal with you and tell them you lost the certificate and they will help you by printing a new one for you 🙂

  19. katherinebeardiva3 permalink
    April 9, 2008 5:20 pm

    hello, is anyone on? any way has anyone noticed that…. if you do a quest you can do another one because i did 1 quest the gem one somthing like that and i can still do the other one that wasent working for a while.is is a glitch?

  20. janineallheart permalink
    April 9, 2008 5:21 pm

    I”m on! what’s your avatar’s name, beardiva?

  21. katherinebeardiva3 permalink
    April 9, 2008 5:22 pm

    and i did them at them same time.

  22. katherinebeardiva3 permalink
    April 9, 2008 5:22 pm

    my user name is katherinebeardiva3 i’m on cubby at this momment

  23. janineallheart permalink
    April 9, 2008 5:23 pm

    me too! lol 🙂

  24. katherinebeardiva3 permalink
    April 9, 2008 5:23 pm

    you would see me in alot of gray

  25. katherinebeardiva3 permalink
    April 9, 2008 5:24 pm

    what is your user name in case we run into each other?

  26. janineallheart permalink
    April 9, 2008 5:25 pm

    janineallheart6… where are you now on bearville?

  27. katherinebeardiva3 permalink
    April 9, 2008 5:25 pm

    i’m in the farm

  28. katherinebeardiva3 permalink
    April 9, 2008 5:26 pm

    i’m playing bobing for apples you may not see me

  29. janineallheart permalink
    April 9, 2008 5:30 pm

    i’m at the farm….

  30. alexb1094 permalink
    April 9, 2008 6:51 pm

    some one go take screenshots of demi disco bear in the bear boluevard zome(environment section) she has lots of rare stuff!!!that is not listed on the page

  31. alexb1094 permalink
    April 9, 2008 6:56 pm

    hey everyone the new bear news has arrived!!!!
    There are going to be sales at the clothing store and new clothes…there is also a new vote and how you contribute to saving planet earth

  32. jenniferspaws permalink
    April 9, 2008 7:57 pm

    BABW has definately warped me! I am DYING to go buy new stuff but I know there aren’t any codes or promos going on right now so I am having internal conflicts…LOL!! Maybe I can get a PARTY shirt for my birthday. I’m sliding over the thirty mark Saturday…

    Sighs.

  33. sushirox336 permalink
    April 9, 2008 9:52 pm

    thanks alexb! i checked it out and i am extremly excited!!!! i was wondering when they would let your character wear a dress!

  34. faithballetbear5 permalink
    April 9, 2008 9:58 pm

    Jenniferspaws! Happy Birthday! I’m going over that particular hill in June. You’ll have to tell me how it feels.

  35. janineallheart permalink
    April 9, 2008 10:02 pm

    I really can’t wait until the fashion show starts and i will get to wear a dress… no more putting shirts with skirts to make dresses for me! lol…

  36. sammik permalink
    April 9, 2008 11:04 pm

    I MIGHT be going to a BABW sometime soon and if I do, I’ll get as many codes as I can sweet-talk them into giving me. 🙂 I’m not particularly interested in Hannah Montana, so I’ll give them to others if I can get some.

  37. April 10, 2008 8:46 am

    wlover12 – Your comments are being deleted because you are asking for codes – please see the rules on the about page, I would love to have you join the community if you are interested in more than acquiring a code.

  38. jenniferfriendsfurever9 permalink
    April 10, 2008 8:53 am

    Freya! Check in Paw Park! There’s a Black Lab where you can do a quest!

  39. April 10, 2008 8:57 am

    Oh cute – black labs are one of my favorites! That must be why the pink hearts bear is gone.

    Thanks for the news Jenniferfriendsfurever9!!!

  40. JessBearHug permalink
    April 10, 2008 9:00 am

    I just finished the quest and I didn’t get anything. It said check my stuff and there was nothing there.
    I found the black labs in Beach Cave, Farm on the barn, Outside coffee shop wall, Performing Arts outside wall, Neighborhood fence. Then click on the black lab again and hopefully someone will get something. 😦

  41. JessBearHug permalink
    April 10, 2008 9:01 am

    Oh yes, and the beach is open and it’s like going to a real beach on a hot day – CROWDED!! I think I’ll spend the day in the mountains 🙂

  42. April 10, 2008 11:58 am

    Oh yeah – it’s opening day at the Beach too!

    JessBearHug it sounds like Long Island!

  43. JessBearHug permalink
    April 10, 2008 12:28 pm

    Freya, Jones Beach?? or Rockaway?? Ah, my old neck of the woods 🙂

    I guess I should have said it looks like Daytona during Spring Break!

    Looks like a lot of folks are not getting anything from the Black Lab. And my daughter has just informed me that the Hannah Montana signs are back.

  44. ravenblack10 permalink
    April 10, 2008 2:47 pm

    i just did the quest right now, and the black lab didn’t give me anything :[ at least we didn’t miss out on an item, i would be more upset about that than just money.

  45. jessieluckybear13 permalink
    April 10, 2008 5:56 pm

    I did the quest and I didn’t get anything either. I’m new here so if you see me in babv, please say hello. My babv name is jessieluckybear13

  46. kaelynmarch permalink
    April 10, 2008 6:29 pm

    There is a black dog? I don’t see him?

  47. kelleysunshine permalink
    April 10, 2008 6:35 pm

    The black lab is in Paw Park. He’s cute!

  48. JessBearHug permalink
    April 10, 2008 8:49 pm

    Ok, here’s a question I just thought of. If you spend $15 but you use a $5 off coupon, do they still give you the code for the $15 original price? Same here, jenniferspaws, the guitar would be neat but I couldn’t care less about the video. I’m hoping it’s like the milk carton, where the code is good for everyone. But since it’s limited access to the video, I think the each code will only be good one time.

    If we reverse our ages, I’d still be older than you 🙂 have a great birthday!!

  49. faithballetbear5 permalink
    April 10, 2008 9:55 pm

    Freya,
    That is such a great thing to do! We’ve been talking about the work of encouragement at church and I’m sure that would count.

    Jenniferspaws,
    It’s so funny that we start changing like that! When I start getting excited about how much the tea set from ancient China is worth, I know it’s time to change the channel. I keep hearing my mom here lately every time I say something, too. I guess that just comes with having kids. Especially one who thinks she’s already a teen.

  50. kitten1462 permalink
    April 10, 2008 9:58 pm

    Hi freya! How are you? I was at my friend’s house. One of my webkinz accounts was going to expire so I got a mouse so it didn’t. How is your vacation?

    P.S. I want a guitar too! I like Hannah Montana alot but I can see a “Best of both worlds” music video on disney channel! But I’m still getting a guitar. I’m set on that. LOL 🙂

  51. jenniferspaws permalink
    April 10, 2008 10:20 pm

    Freya,

    That is such an awesome thing to do! I am the advisor of the Culture Club at the local college (where I work) and we have to do a community service project next year. I was thinking of doing something for abandoned/rescued animals but maybe we can do two projects. I think the club members would LOVE to go to BABW and make bears to give to children in hospitals. The idea for a church group is awesome too!

    Faithballetbear5,

    I know. I have been glued to that show and I know that some day soon one of my mom’s pieces of junk that she refuses to throw away will surface and it will be a jackpot!

    Our MLB ballpark does not offer the fan finger. 😦 I would not be able to get one other than through a trade. We’ll see what happens…

    I have a $10 Stuff Fur Bucks certificate and a $5 birthday certificate. I was thinking of buying about $30 worth of stuff for the kids and only paying about $15 total. I was going to try to go when they are giving away BOTH the dogtags and the Hannah Montana Stuff. That way, I win twice! 🙂

  52. faithballetbear5 permalink
    April 12, 2008 12:57 am

    I think someone may have already asked this, but I can’t remember where the comment was… If you use a coupon and your $10 stuff for stuff certificate is that the same as spending $15? Does that count towards the codes and stuff? Or do I have to spend more if I use those for it to count? Does that make sense to anyone else but me? I’m really tired and should not be held accountable for my typing skills at 1am.

  53. squirt30 permalink
    April 12, 2008 5:50 pm

    dhuaki- i ordered an elephant online too in the beach time period but i actually got the beach code. i wonder what’s up with that?

  54. sarahbear371 permalink
    April 13, 2008 9:20 pm

    Another question: If I go to BABW on the 19th, and spend 15 dollars will I get a fashion dog tag AND this hannah montana stuff? I hope I don’t have to spend 30 dollars to get both…
    I haven’t been on BABV or this blog for like a week cause I just got a new gaming system on my TV that is really addicting…LOL

  55. jenniferspaws permalink
    April 15, 2008 5:25 pm

    Oh and by the way, I am totally MAD!! I took off time and drove to BABW this morning and the Assistant Manager knew NOTHING about the Hannah Montana promo or where to even get the codes. He called another store and they said they were on the May calendar. Isn’t that FREE? Why would the codes be on there when you have to spend $15? Let me know if anyone has insight.

  56. JessBearHug permalink
    April 15, 2008 6:26 pm

    jenniferspaws, it is April 15 to May 15th. It’s on their website, it’s in their emails, it’s everywhere. I would call the store, mad, and tell them to give you the code over the phone since they made a mistake 🙂 Probably wouldn’t work, but you could write to BAB online and tell them the story and maybe they will send you it.

  57. princessbunny permalink
    April 15, 2008 6:52 pm

    sarahbear371 / I talked to my store and the 15$ will get you the dog tag and the code for the guitar 8)

  58. April 15, 2008 7:10 pm

    I just got back from the BABW. I waited until today to buy my topaz gem bear so I could get the code for the Hannah Montana thing……

    The store had not received the packet of calenders yet!!!

    The good news is that I’m thinking the codes on the calenders will all be the same. Then we can share them. She said they will keep the calender behind the counter. She said they MIGHT get them tomorrow but she is not certain.

    It’s all a promotion – they did have Hannah Montana CDs that they were trying to sell – uhhh No Thanks!

    I was as disappointed as you Jenniferspaws!

  59. sammik permalink
    April 15, 2008 7:27 pm

    The Topaz Gem Bear has to be my last bear for a while…I’m running low on funds. 😦 I’m afraid that if I wait until April 24th to buy her (so I can get the bear clothing code) that they’ll be sold out. What does everyone else think??

  60. sarahbear371 permalink
    April 15, 2008 11:22 pm

    Umm…what calendars are we talking about? I thought those calendars were free…or are you talking about different ones?

  61. JessBearHug permalink
    April 15, 2008 11:46 pm

    What Calendar?????

    I have an April calendar from BABW but it doesn’t have any codes. Is there another kind of calendar??

  62. April 16, 2008 10:23 am

    It must be the May calenders. I have not seen them yet either. They are not free this month.

  63. ravenblack10 permalink
    April 17, 2008 4:00 pm

    i traded so i have a guitar now, and when i went and clicked on the middle stage just to see what would happen, it let me watch the video. That’s weird, i thought the video would stay with the person who had the guitar first.

  64. caleighobeary permalink
    April 19, 2008 7:36 pm

    There seems to be some confusion about the May calendar that I think I can clear up…you get a calendar with ANY purchase it doesn’t have to be $15 and any bearbuilder that tells you different is wrong…ask for a manager…this weekend is Pawlette’s Birthday and with every $15 purchase you get a free dog tag necklace with a code for a virtual necklace…I know we don’t give out any identifying information on here but I’m very curious to know where you are all going to Build a Bear because this is NOT the way bearbuilders are supposed at act and it’s embarrassing to me that you are all having such difficulty with these gifts with purchase…like I said on another post somewhere if you have a problem always ask for a manager…but please be polite you never know if the person you asked first is new and maybe not understanding what you need…

  65. JessBearHug permalink
    April 19, 2008 8:22 pm

    caleighobeary, I went to BABW yesterday, the 18th. I can tell you that I went to one in the Tampa, FL area, which is not the one I usually go to. We were away and that one was near. We were making 2 separate purchases, for 2 separate people. I went to make the 1st purchase and asked about the dog tags. They told me that that would be on Saturday. I said it was supposed to start on the 18th and they told me I was wrong (clerk AND manager) So I pulled out my handy dandy April calendar, which thankfully, I did remember to take with me. The manager did not say a word, but her expression was not a happy one. She went to the back and brought the box out. I also had to remind her to give me the May calendar. Then for the 2nd purchase, I made sure that she gave me the right items. Was definitely not my typical BABW experience.

  66. kitten1462 permalink
    April 19, 2008 8:33 pm

    I feel bad for you jess. I went to BABW today and asked if I could make new birth certificates with the ones I brounght and the girl was mean and said “Why do you need a new code? You don’t need one. We will give you a welcome pass.” She would not let me do that and I was steamed. Then we spent 75 dollars there because my friend go a bear too. They were only gonna give us 2 dog tags. I asked if I could get 1 for each 15 dollars, they game me 2 more. I should have gotten 5, not 4. And I should have gotten 5 calenders. I only got 2. 1 for my friend and 1 for me. And Paulette was sick today. Not the best trip to BABW.

  67. squirt30 permalink
    April 19, 2008 9:46 pm

    omg they did that to you? today i took 7 (yes, SEVEN) old bears and they let me print new birth certificates for all of them. i even made one of the birth certificates a ballpark bear (so i could get the foam finger) and they didn’t even check to see if i was printing the right animals. did you ask to re-print the birth certificates for the codes? because if you did, maybe next time you shouldn’t mention a code, because maybe they thought you were being greedy or something (which you obviously weren’t) i just asked to re-print mine b/c they got lost, and it was no problem.

  68. kitten1462 permalink
    April 19, 2008 10:10 pm

    I’ll say that next time. I think i’ll bring 7 too. Maybe 8. I have alot of BABs. Your people htere must be nice. Mine aren’t. LOL

  69. sophiesosweet permalink
    April 20, 2008 10:10 am

    I was very disappointed with the store in Downtown Disney, LA. I paid upstairs but they did not have Hannah code or my birth certificate up there so I had to collect them from the other till downstairs. They grudgingly gave them to me, giving a look as if to say, you’re to old (when I have learning difficulties and really like build a bear!) What really annoyed me was the birth certificate codes don’t work. I hate that store now.

    The one in NY city was great, I ate in the cafe there and everything, that’s my favourite store now. My local one in London is good too but you can’t get Hannah codes here (I was lucky enough to be on vacation in LA!)

  70. faithballetbear5 permalink
    April 20, 2008 9:13 pm

    We have always had great experiences. I don’t know how we do it but every time we’ve gone we’ve checked out with the same sales person. She is great! They didn’t give me any problems with the new certificates. One of them didn’t do all it should (we got the wallpaper and bear bills but can’t do the quest), but the people at our store are just the best! I feel like we are going to see good friends when we go there.

  71. faithballetbear5 permalink
    April 20, 2008 9:21 pm

    Oh and by the way, I didn’t take our bears with us. We forgot to. When I asked the sales lady, at first she said “You know you can get a welcome pass for them.” I said, “Yes we did that, but then found out that you can’t play the games with them online and my girls really wanted to play with them.” She kind of stopped for a second, like she wasn’t sure what I was asking then said “Yeah, sure. You can get a thing to scan for them.” I said “Oh, I wish we had thought to bring them!” She said, “You don’t have to bring them with you.” And she went and got a whole stack, came back and asked us how many we needed! (We only got the three we needed)

  72. janineallheart permalink
    April 20, 2008 9:57 pm

    LOL…. My BABW people are soooooooooo nice…. i got a turtle last time and totally forgot about the calender and she just slipped the calender in for me!

  73. tessapopstar3 permalink
    April 20, 2008 10:09 pm

    sophie-

    did you print the certificates today (sunday)

    sometimes because its the weekend and website management is shut down on sundays and what not the codes don’t work until monday. i’ve had that problem before too, and then i tried on a monday and they worked. hope it does for you 🙂

  74. jacsan permalink
    April 21, 2008 12:46 pm

    is there any way, I can get the calendars or web codes through the internet? I am a returning customing of buidabear.com. But I would like to receive the calendars and webcodes when I make purchases online. Could that be possible?

  75. kiaraartsy10 permalink
    April 23, 2008 8:03 am

    Hello,Freya,can you help me?Where I can get the Calendar of MAy?It is the special web code to got the Hannah Montana TM guitar??????????
    Please answer..and more sweet kisses for you!Bye Bye my special friend!

  76. April 23, 2008 8:58 am

    Hi Kiaraartsy10, With each purchase of $15 or more at the US or Canadian Build-A-Bear Workshop you get the May calender which has the web code on it. The web code allows you access to the Hannah Montana video and gets you the virtual guitar.

    To all, I don’t know how you can get the calender through online purchases, it doesn’t say that you can in the posting and I have not had that experience. I would say I don’t think so but we’ll see if someone else has been able to.

Comments are closed.

