Skip to content

Trading Guide and Scamming Chat

February 26, 2008

a4pic.jpgScamming! How unfortunate that I have to write about such an ugly topic. It happens. In some cases it’s adults or older users with the cognizance to understand their wrong-doings. They use the system to take advantage of new traders or kids that don’t know the value of exclusive items or don’t know that they can exit the trade or how it works. I still have a hard time imagining why someone would try to take advantage of a child for a virtual item and I am reminded that some of the scammers are children, who don’t understand the values.

For my faithful bloggers, I am working on a Private Trading Page where the Wall will go up again and we can also chat freely about items we want to trade away/for. I have not been able to set this up yet, the links haven’t worked so as soon as I can get the page up you’ll be informed. I would like to use information gathered here to supplement the current Trading Page and provide more useful information for new traders. The most important advice I have is DON’T HIT THAT CHECKMARK until you are positive that you want to proceed with the trade as is. It is not a way to determine the fairness of the trade, it is how you complete the trade as is. In determining fairness, the green bars only work with items purchased in the Shops.

a1.jpg

You can see in this picture that the person on the right side of the trade has green bars, that means they have to add to the trade to balance the ‘scale’.

They’re getting closer in the next pic a2pic.jpgbut the shirt on the left is more expensive then the shirt on the right so even with 100 bear bills added to the shirt on the right, the person on the right needs to add more bear bills or an item of equal value.

More bear bills or a more expensive shirt bought in Pawlette’s Coufur should be added to this trade until the values are equal. The gifts received at events (red Bearemy shirt, pawlette tshirt, valentine shirt, santa hat, maxine slippers and hat, heart table) have NO VALUE according to the green bars. Even when the person on the left is only adding 10 bear bills to the trade in the next pic, the green bars are indicating that the person on the right, who has contributed the Highly Valued Rare bear slippers from Maxine, must add to the trade. The Furry Friend Exclusive items obtained from winning Quests (eskimo jacket, etc.) also do not have any value per the green bars however they are HIGHLY VALUED in Build-A-Bearville!

24 Comments
  1. kitten1462 permalink
    February 26, 2008 11:52 am

    Oh and I don’t like trading away quest items for money even if it is 100,000 because that person might use easy cheats to get that money and your basiccly giving it to them for free.

  2. rosiepink13 permalink
    February 26, 2008 12:27 pm

    I wish they didn’t have trades. I see when it would be an advantage, but for the most part, it seems like a problem. I don’t let my children trade at all, and I avoid it at all costs. After all, I bought what I want and I want to keep the special items that I received!

  3. FreyaFullOfHugs permalink
    February 26, 2008 2:15 pm

    I haven’t gotten it to work yet thought. I am working with the word press forum to figure out why. When it does work, you can be my test pilot!

    Rosiepink12 – that’s a good strategy, thanks for commenting!

    (I did remove the ages of your children, it’s an internet safety precaution).

  4. kitten1462 permalink
    February 26, 2008 3:47 pm

    Cool! Thanks! I would love to trade! Except I’m running out of x-mass furniture. Iwish they would make easter furniture.

  5. starofstars permalink
    February 26, 2008 6:50 pm

    I think the trade chat is a great idea!

  6. sammik permalink
    February 26, 2008 8:33 pm

    This is a great idea! 😀

  7. kitten1462 permalink
    February 26, 2008 8:34 pm

    I agree Sammik!

  8. rosiepink13 permalink
    February 27, 2008 12:37 am

    Of course if someone had a tiara they wanted to trade me, I would give almost anything…
    :o)

  9. FreyaFullOfHugs permalink
    February 27, 2008 6:04 pm

    sophiesosweet Says:

    They have changed the trading now, so you can only add up to 1000 bear bills, which makes it safer but now you can’t really trade rare items, I used to trade my rare items or trade for them for around 40,000 bear bills which I thought was fair.

    When I was first in build a bearville I traded my dino slippers for canvas shoes! I soon learnt and was about to trade for them off someone else.

  10. melodypathak permalink
    April 30, 2008 7:10 pm

    one time when i was trading this girl forced me to trade with her. i kept on clicking the “X” button but she wouldn’t stop asking me.

  11. franpatches permalink
    May 8, 2008 3:17 pm

    I know how that feels! It is so annoying when people won’t leave you alone. Especially when they black mail or be mean…

  12. corinneultracool permalink
    May 8, 2008 4:05 pm

    there was this one time this girl had 2 bear slippers,two tiaras,and double some other rare stuff.so i was giving a milk carton and a exploras hat cause she didn’t have them and she then goes im not trading any rare stuff so i just cancel the trade cause whats the point of trading i dont want to trade stuff that i can just buy!

  13. jessicahugs22 permalink
    May 9, 2008 11:11 pm

    yup! once this girl wanted my tiara. bunny ears, and dog tag necklace for 100 bear bucks and a shirt that could be bought! so the green bars don’t help too much if your trading rare items since theyre worth 0 bear bucks…
    peopple go straight for the bunny ears :l

  14. jessicahugs22 permalink
    May 12, 2008 8:51 pm

    anyone have a pink tiara up for trade?

  15. jessicahugs22 permalink
    May 12, 2008 8:57 pm

    carol cool 7 total scammer!!!!!!!!

  16. mikaelascubabear permalink
    May 18, 2008 10:16 pm

    theres this girl who wanted my party hat, ski hat, and santa hat for the hats you could buy!!!! I wanted to x out but I pressed the paw instead!!! 😦 Same with my dog tag necklace, PINK tiara, holly necklace, maxine slippers, rabbit glasses, read bear glasses, and my bamboo mat!!! 😦 but I just need to get my read glasses, holly necklace, dog tag, maxine slippers, rabbit glasses, bamboo mat, and my santa hat back. I forgot whom I traded with but i’m like a klutz on trading…

  17. aliciaballerina permalink
    May 19, 2008 11:18 pm

    jessicahugs i do but for really really rare items

  18. JessBearHug permalink
    May 19, 2008 11:23 pm

    mikaelascubabear, are you saying you lost 10 items?? If you did, then you went back in and traded 4 times! Seems to me you need to block all trades. You had some really good items. Don’t know why you were so anxious to trade. Take your time. Get to know people. Then only accept trades with people you know well. It is easy to make a mistake but making friends will help you because your friends won’t cheat you.

  19. jessicahugs22 permalink
    May 19, 2008 11:39 pm

    ballerina I got one already! thanks!
    wow mikelascubabear! you did have some good items!
    dont worry it happens to the best of us.
    it happened to me too. I was “smart” enouh to press the check!!!
    yeah I only trade with people mainly on here and my best friend!

  20. sparkle14 permalink
    May 23, 2008 3:06 am

    ooooh i have not been online 4 ages wow but i have just got my yellow tiara fomr topaz bear and cheerleader outfit!!!!yay!!!

  21. mikaelascubabear permalink
    May 23, 2008 6:43 pm

    Sometimes I just wanna see what people want from me and what they’ll give… oh and I got maxine slippers! I got them from maxine after I saw her like yesterday… everyone says “oh please don’t leave the trade!” i end up leaving anyway. People just go for the gutair, 2 tiaras, and bunny ears. i’ve been blocking trades for week now. If you happen to go on bear boulevard i un block the trades because no one will trade!

  22. mikaelascubabear permalink
    May 24, 2008 12:22 pm

    sometimes when I get all ‘anxious to trade” I just go bananas! I don’t ask people to trade sometimes I do when their AFK. I just tell people get the bear to have it or you should have met whoever!

  23. mikaelascubabear permalink
    May 27, 2008 6:39 pm

    got my pink tiara back, btw I forgot to tell yall

  24. polofrog permalink
    May 27, 2008 11:39 pm

    Um i know this has nothing to do with trading but it is important! If anyone has done the Pawlette Coufur’s fashion challenge, can you please help me?! I cannot find ANY of the combinations!

Comments are closed.

